Described as the "Chief Apostle of amateurism in the club", Arthur Geake was the driving force behind the building of both the second and third Hampden Parks.
Born in Nottingham in 1849, he joined the club in May 1879, just over ten years after its foundation, and was quickly appointed to the role of match secretary and a place on the club committee, where he was to remain until his death, a period of almost fifty years.
Elected to the President's chair for the 1885/86 season, he also retained the Presidency for the following season as the club built second Hampden, and when the club decided to open third Hampden, his experience in leading the club through such a momentous commitment saw him re-elected to the office on a further three occasions, 1900/01, 1901/02 and 1902/03, an unprecedented spell.
Following the Queen's entry to the Scottish Football League in 1900, Geake was elected as the club's representative to that body, and became President of the League in 1904/05 and 1905/06.
To mark his seventieth birthday and his fortieth year of membership of the club, in 1919 he was presented with a gold pendant by the club inscribed with the years of his Presidency.
Geake died in Girvan in June 1920, and such was the esteem that his contribution to the club was held in, Queen's Park paid for his gravestone in Girvan cemetery.